Two PTI dissidents among eight elected chairpersons of NA bodies.

ISLAMABAD -- Two dissidents of the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf were among the eight lawmakers elected on Thursday as chairpersons of eight standing committees of the National Assembly.

The committees had become headless after the en masse resignations of the PTI members at the time of the election of Shehbaz Sharif as the new prime minister in April.

According to the National Assembly Secretariat's separate handouts, PTI MNA from Multan Ahmed Hussain Deharr has been 'elected' as chairman of the standing committee on interior, whereas PTI's Javaria Zafar Aheer, elected on women reserved seats, has become chairperson of the committee on information and broadcasting.

Both Mr Deharr and Javaria Zafar were found to be the most vocal MNAs who harshly criticised former prime minister and PTI chairman Imran Khan during the three-week long budget session of the National Assembly concluded on June 29.

PM appoints 18 lawmakers as parliamentary secretaries

Noor Alam Khan, another most vocal critic of the PTI chairman, has already been 'elected' as chairman of the most powerful parliamentary Public Accounts Committee.

Besides them, another PTI dissident Raja Riaz is currently functioning as the opposition leader in the assembly.

Others who were 'elected' chairmen of the standing committees are: Mian Najeebuddin Awasi (economic affairs division), Syed Ghulam Mustafa Shah (industries and production), Muhammad Jamaluddin (states and frontier regions), Raza Rabbani Khar (commerce), Mehmood Bashir Virk (law and justice) and Syed Imran Ahmad Shah (religious affairs and interfaith harmony).

Following the ouster of the PTI government through a...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT