Sugarcane growers protest for clearing of three-year dues.


NAUNDERO -- Sugarcane growers of different towns of Larkana and Kambar-Shahdadkot districts held a protest demonstration in front of main entrance of Naundero Sugar Mills (NSM) here Wednesday, demanding payment of outstanding dues against NSM since past three years. The protesters were led by Hussain Bux Bhutto, Malook Jakhro, Badaruddin Mohil, Aijaz Kertio, Nazir Brohi and others. They were also joined by locals including Ghulam Hyder Narejo, Mushtaque Kumbhar, Javed Bhutto, Sahab Khan Shaikh and others. The protesters showed solidarity with the agitating peasants. They were holding large banners in their hands, shouting slogans against the NSM administration and were crying for help as according to them they had not been given payment for the sugarcane sold to the NSM during 2017, 2018 and 2019. They said that unjust, open and daring violation of code of ethics had proved that NSM authorities do not want to pay them for their commodity.

They said that NSM authorities had already sold sugar stock which was produced from their sugarcane but had so far failed to make payment to the poor tillers. They said...

To continue reading