South Punjab may have new dists.


Byline: Majeed Gill

BAHAWALPUR -- The Punjab government is actively considering a proposal to create five new districts in south Punjab.

This is in line with the government's policy to provide facilities to people for the resolution of their basic problems at the lowest level and nearest to their homes as the public circles had been raising their voice in the previous years for a district-level status to their tehsil headquarters.

To achieve this object, there was a proposal to upgrade the five existing tehsil headquarters to the district headquarters.

Dawn learnt from official circles that at present, the Punjab government is actively examining the upgradation of two tehsil headquarters of Ahmedpur East and Chishtian in the Bahawalpur division to the district headquarters. Besides, district headquarters status to the Taunsa tehsil of Dera Ghazi Khan district, Kot Addu of Layyah district and Shujabad of Multan district may also be considered.

In Bahawalpur district, the residents of Ahmedpur East and Hasilpur during previous years had...

To continue reading