Senate body on Rules of Procedure and Privileges meets.

Islamabad -- The meeting of Senate Committee on Rules of Procedure and Privileges was held on Wednesday at Parliament House. Chaired by Senator Muhammad TahirBizenjo, the meeting was attended by Senator Irfan-ul-HaqueSiddiqui, Senator Manzoor Ahmed Khan Kakar and senior officers of the Ministries and Departments concerned such as Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs, the Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) and Capital Development Authority (CDA).

While discussing the Privilege Motion moved by Senator Sherry Rehman regarding Parliamentarians Tax Directory for the Tax Year 2019 published by the FBR; the Chairman enquired from the Member (IT) FBR about the issue. The Chairman drew attention of the Committee towards the fact that Parliamentarian's Tax Directory for the Tax Year 2019 was published by FBR in the year 2022 with a three years delay which is astonishing. Senator Irfan-ul-HaqSiddiqui enquired that what were the reasons of including the names of the persons in the PTD of Tax Year 2019 who were not even members of the Parliament in the year 2019? Member (IT) FBR admitted that the Diary has been published with the delay of two years which should have actually been published in the year 2020 but the delay was caused due to change of Government. As far as the query of inclusion of names of the persons who were not even Parliamentarians in the year 2019 is concerned, he informed the Committee that with the approval of...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT