Muhammad Ali Larosh (Wapda) becomes new champion as Mahoor maintains title.

PESHAWAR -- Muhammad Ali Larosh of Pakistan Wapda new national champion after winning Men's singles while Mahoor Shehzad maintained her supremacy of retaining the Women singles title in the 58th National Badminton Championshhip played at Abdul Wali Khan Sports Complex Charsadda on Monday.

Director General Sports KP Asfandyar Khan Khattak, Secretary General Pakistan Badminton Federation Wajid Ali Chudhary, President Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Badminton Association Zafar Ali Khan, Secretary Haji Amjad Khan, District Sports Officer Tehseen Ullah, international Coaches Nadeem Khan and Hayat Ullah and other dignitaries were present on the occasion.

Muhammad Ali Larosh and Mahur Shehzad of WAPDA won the singles title of National Senior Badminton Championship carried a cash prize of Rs. 500,000. In the Men's singles final, Muhammad Ali Larush faced a tough resistance at the hands of Irfan Saeed, who in the semi-final upset national champion Murad Ali of NBP earlier on.

A voiceful crowd witnessed the finals of Men's singles, Women's Singles, Men's doubles and Women doubles. Muhammad Ali Larosh, lsot the first set by 15-21 and he staged a strong comeback and after leveling the set 1-1 when he got the second set by 21-17.

It was the third and decisive set when both Muhammad Ali and Irfan Saeed went to full length and gave each other a tough fight by exhibited some classic cross court smashes, overhead smashes and forceful...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT