Hamza Shahbaz takes oath as CM Punjab.

Following a dramatic three-vote victory against PML-Q and PTI joint candidate Chaudhry Pervez Elahi, PML-N leader Hamza Shahbaz on Saturday took oath as chief minister of Punjab.

Governor Punjab Baligh Ur Rehman finally administered the oath to Hamza Shahbaz. The oath-taking ceremony took place at Governor House and was attended by PML-N leaders and other government officials.

'Will continue mission of serving people'

After coming into office, Hamza thanked Allah, the PML-N, coalition parties, particularly naming Asif Ali Zardari and Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, both of whom he said played a "central role" in "strengthening democracy in the country".

"InshaAllah we will continue our mission of serving the people," he said.

Hamza wins by three votes

Hamza Shahbaz, a day prior, retained the post of the Punjab chief minister as Deputy Speaker Dost Mazari, citing Article 63A of the Constitution, rejected 10 votes cast by PML-Q members.

As a result, Hamza received 179 votes, while Elahi, who was backed by the PTI, managed to bag 176 votes.

Petition filed against Mazari's ruling on CM Punjab poll

After Deputy Speaker Dost Mazari's ruling on the Punjab Chief Minister's election about rejecting PML-Q votes, a petition was filed against the CM Punjab election.

Pervez Elahi's counsel Aamir Saeed Rawn filed the petition in the SC Lahore Registry late at night in which Hamza...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT