British MPs vow to continue struggle for freedom of oppressed Kashmiris.

ISLAMABAD -- A number of prominent members of the Parliament (MPs) of the United Kingdom and Pakistan on Thursday reiterated their pledge to continue supporting the freedom struggle of Kashmiris and vowed to leave no stone unturned to highlight the plight of Kashmiris under the Hindutva regime of India.

Speaking to a large gathering of overseas Pakistanis, held to observe the Right to Self Determination Day being observed by the people of Jammu and Kashmir today, former chairman of the Parliamentary Committee Shehryar Khan Afridi, Lord Qurban Hussain, Lord Wajid Hussain, MP of UK Imran Hussain, Shadow Minister Yasmin Dar and others vowed to carry forward their struggle for Kashmiris at a simple ceremony hosted by Shehryar Afridi and assisted by the Overseas Pakistanis Global Foundation (OPGF).

Speaking to participants, Mr Afridi said that Kashmir remains close to his heart and he would continue his struggle for its people. 'My forefathers from tribal areas of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa joined the freedom struggle of Kashmir. They gave their sweat and blood for the Kashmir cause. I would continue supporting the freedom movement in my capacity,' he said in his welcome address.

Acknowledging contributions of overseas Pakistanis, Mr Afridi said that overseas Pakistanis have made a name for themselves while waging struggle in foreign lands and have competed with the best of the...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT