25 candidates jump into scheduled Nov. 24 AJK LA bye- election arena in Mirpur LA-3.


MIRPUR (AJK) -- A total of 25 candidates filed their nomination papers with the returning officer by the stipulated last day on Monday here for the scheduled November 24 bye-election to the only vacant seat of the AJK Legislative Assembly from Mirpur City - III (LA-3) constituency.

The seat had fallen vacant following disqualification of the sitting MLA and minister from the constituency and minister in the incumbent Prime Minister Raja Farooq Haider-led AJK government of PML-N Ch. Muhammad Saeed by the Supreme Court of Azad Jammu and Kashmir in a contempt of court case on September 25.

The apex court had declared Saeed disqualified for contesting or holding any public office for next five years period.

AJK elections commission has, by now, announced the bye - election schedule to fill the vacant seat to the AJK Legislative Assembly, to be held on November 24 this year.

The nomination papers could be filed by the candidates by the stipulated last date of October 21 was the last date for filing the nomination papers according to the schedule, announced by the AJK Elections Commission.

All those 25 of the candidates who filed the nomination papers with the Returning Officer/ the serving Additional Session judge Mirpur Muhammad Idrees Bhatti here by the last day including prominent politicians including former Prime Minister and PTI AJK President Barrister Sultan Mahmood Chaudhry, ex city Mayor and former Special Assistant to AJK government Ch. Muhammad Ashraf, (belonging to PPP AJK Chapter), Mrs. Shagufta Saeed, Sohaib Saeed Chaudhry (wife and son respectively of the immediate-past former AJK minister Chaudhry Muhammad Saeed) (belonging to PML (N) AJK, Dr. Amin Chaudhry (ex Director General MDA), Wasif Amin Chaudhry, Khalid Fariooq, Tamkeen Bibi, Muhamamd Basharat, Tasleem Arif, Iftikhar Khadim, Muhammad Ikhlaq Jazbi, Muhammad Ashfaq, Muhammad Afzal Mirza, Zulfiqar Ali Bilawalk Khan, Choudhry Yasir Sultan, Muhammad Usman Arshad, Tahir Mahmood, Zaka Ullah Faiz, Raja Tanveer Hussaink, Raja Muhammad Naeeb Khan Taakher, Abdul Ghafoor, Muhammad Shafiq and Shakoor Ahmed Mughal, according to office of the Assistant Election Commissioner Mirpur.

The candidates came to the office of the returning officer for filing their nomination papers along with their jubilant supporters. A great enthusiasm was witnessed among the candidates and their supporters on this occasion.

The candidates belonging to various political parties have started girding lions to...

To continue reading