Three SC judges, IHC chief justice take oath.

ISLAMABAD -- Three judAges of the Supreme Court as well as the chief justice of Islamabad High Court (IHC) were administered the oath of their offices at separate ceremonies on Friday.

Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Umar Ata Bandial administered the oath to Justice Athar Minallah, Justice Shahid Waheed and Justice Syed Hasan Azhar Rizvi as the judges of the Supreme Court.

The elevation of the three judges to the apex court was approved by President Dr Arif Alvi a couple of days ago.

The oath-taking ceremAony, held at the Supreme Court building, was attenAded by Minister for Federal Education and Professional Training Rana Tanveer Hussain, Senator Saleem Mandviwalla, senior judges, high-ranking government officials, members of the legal fraternity and eminent members of civil society.

At the other ceremony held at Aiwan-i-Sadr, JustAice Aamer Farooq became the sixth chief justice of IHC when he took the oath of his office.

President Alvi administeAred the oath to Justice Farooq.

The president had approAved the appointment of JusAtice Farooq, senior puisne judge, under Article 175A(13) of the Constitution.

The Judicial Commission of Pakistan (JCP), headed by CJP Bandial, had on Oct 28 unanimously recommended the nomination of Justice Farooq as the IHC's chief justice.

Earlier on Oct 24, the JCP had recommended the elevation of Justice Minallah, Justice Waheed and Justice Rizvi to the Supreme Court.

Justice Farooq was sworn in as an additional judge of IHC on Jan 1, 2015 and on the recommendation of JCP he was confirmed as judge of the...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT