Shahid Afridi parts ways with PSL team Karachi Kings.

KARACHI -- Former captain Shahid Afridi has parted ways with Pakistan Super League team Karachi Kings, after the franchise decided not to retain him for the next season of the tournament.

The PSL released the list of players retained by the franchises for the upcoming season earlier today.

Kings have retained Colin Munro, Babar Azam and Mohammad Amir in Platinum category, while Colin Ingram was dropped one category down to Diamond after he was named as the player ambassador by the franchise.

Karachi Kings have also released Luke Wright, Usama Mir, Khurram Manzoor, Mohammad Irfan Junior and Eoin Morgan. They will now go to the November 20th draft without a pick option in Platinum category.

Lahore Qalandars, who earlier traded Umar Akmal and Sunil Narine, have only retained Fakhar Zaman in Platinum category. They have released Chris Lynn, and parted ways with Brendon McCullum earlier.

Qalandars have also released Sohail Khan, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mustafizur Rahman, Bilawal Bhatti and Gulraiz Sadaf.

They have however retained Yasir Shah in Diamond, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Anton Devcich in Gold, and Agha Salman and Sohail Akhtar in Silver after getting Hassan Khan and Rahat Ali from Quetta Gladiators.

They will now go to the draft with two picks in Platinum, and all eyes are on AB de Villiers and Mohammad Hafeez.

Peshawar Zalmi have retained Wahab Riaz and Hassan Ali in Platinum while Kamran Akmal was...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT