Senate election: ECP starts scrutiny of nomination papers after deadline expires.

ISLAMABAD -- Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has started scrutiny of the nomination papers after the deadline for submission of nomination papers for Senate elections has expired.

According to details, the first phase for Senate elections has been completed. Even on the last day for submission of nomination papers, 14 candidates from Sindh submitted their nomination papers on Monday.

On Monday, nine candidates from the ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) submitted their papers. Federal Minister for Water Resources Muhammad Faisal Vawda, Saifullah Abro, Haneed Lakhani, Hassan Bakhshi, Fiza Zeeshan, Sreena Adnan, Iram Butt, Mahmood Maulvi and Ashraf Qureshi submitted their papers.

On Monday, GDA President Pir Sadruddin Shah Rashdi submitted papers for the general seat while Hassan Bakhshi submitted papers for the technocrat seat.

Advocate Naeem Siddiqui submitted nomination papers of MQM Deputy Convener Aamir...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT