PTI members of PAC to be replaced with experienced ones.

ISLAMABAD -- Following the opposition's move of assailing the government through audit reports of government institutions, Prime Minister Imran Khan has decided to replace the ruling Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI)'s members of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) so that experienced party workers could effectively counter the opposition.

A source in the PTI said the prime minister wanted to replace those PTI members in the PAC who did not challenge flimsy audit paras about government institutions in the committee's meetings.

The source quoted the prime minister as saying 'the opposition parties are being represented by political biggies in the PAC while many of the PTI members are inexperienced and thus unable to counter the opposition leaders vigorously in the PAC meetings'.

The prime minister was of the view that the opposition was using the offices of the PAC chairman and the auditor general of Pakistan (AGP) to portray a dismal picture of government affairs in audit reports.

Incumbent members are said to be unable to counter opposition

Presently the PAC chairman is from the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and the incumbent AGP was appointed during the previous PML-N government.

Mr Khan said the audit department ignored the irregularities of those institutions which 'pleased' the auditors, but audit paras were made against those who 'did not compromise'.

Speaker of the National Assembly Asad Qaisar is said to have been empowered to replace or nominate anyone as member of the PAC.

Presently the PAC has 30 members, including 11 from the PTI. The PTI members are: MNAs Noor Alam Khan, Aamer Mehmood Kiani, Sanaullah Khan Masti Khel, Nasrullah Khan Dreshak, Munaza Hassan, Khawaja Sheraz Mehmood, Muhammad Ibrahim Khan Raja Riaz, Amer Dogar, Shibli Faraz and Riaz Fatyana.

On the other side, the opposition has many stalwarts like Shehbaz Sharif, Raja Pervez Ashraf, Mushahid Hussain Syed, Khawaja Asif, Ayaz Sadiq, Naveed Qamar, Sherry Rehman, Rana Tanveer Hussain (chairman), Hina Rabbani Khar and Senator Talha Mehmood as PAC members.

Talking to Dawn, PTI chief whip in the National Assembly Amir Dogar, who is also a member of the PAC, confirmed that the prime minister had asked him and Defence Minister Pervez Khattak to meet the NA speaker soon and revisit the composition of PAC to include experienced PTI members in place of junior ones.

He said usually senior leaders of a ruling party preferred to become cabinet members and were least...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT