Over 8m voters to choose their representatives in LG polls today.

HYDERABAD -- All seeAmAed set late night for the second phase of local government elections in 16 districts of the province on Sunday (today) when 8,045,475 voters would have long-awaited opportunity to elect their local government representatives from among 17,863 candidates contesting for chairman and vice-chairman of the union committee and general members.

As many as 8,876 polling stations - 4,997 in Karachi and 3,879 in Hyderabad divisions - have been set up with CCTV cameras, where strict security arrangement have been made.

Around 8,153 of the polling stations have been declared 'sensitive' or 'highly sensitive'.

A total of 830 candidates have been elected unopposed in 16 districts of two divisions, including seven in Karachi, 823 in Hyderabad division.

The number of candidates who died before the local government elections has reached 49.

17,863 candidates are vying for chairmen, vice-chairmen and general members' seats in 16 districts

In Karachi, as many as 3,415 polling stations have been classified as sensitive, 1,496 as highly sensitive and 79 as normal.

Out of 2,674 polling stations in HydeArabad division, 1,270 are sensitive, 779 are highly sensitive and 625 are normal.

In Thatta and Sujawal all 1,008 polling stations have been declared sensitive and 185 highly sensitive.

In Karachi, 2,166 candidates for the seat of Chairman and Vice Chairman and 6,892 candidates for Ward Member are taking part in the election battle.

Electoral camps were set up near the polling stations on behalf of various political parties on Saturday, which were also used for the election campaign. After the decision to hold the polls, the provincial election commission and the district administration became active and the process of delivery of election materials was completed on Saturday evening.

Meanwhile, a total of 9,078 candidates would be contesting in the second phase of the local government elections in nine districts of the Hyderabad division -HydeArabad, Dadu, Tando Muhammad Khan, Tando Allahyar, Matiari, Jamshoro, Thatta, Sujawal and Badin - while 3,451,320 citizens would be exercising their right to vote on Sunday (today), according to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).

Of 9,078 candidates, Hyderabad city topped the...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT