Opposition submits names to speaker for panel on caretaker Punjab CM.

LAHORE -- The opposition sent its nominations for the parliamentary committee to decide caretaker chief minister to Punjab Assembly Speaker Sibtain Khan late on Wednesday evening as he warned that in case of its non-cooperation, he would forward to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) only the names given by the provincial government.

The speaker waited for the nominations from the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) in his chamber till office hours but in vain.

He told the media before leaving for his official residence that he would not contact the opposition to seek the nominations, rather they themselves would have to discharge their duties.

He said the government had already submitted three names - Mian Aslam Iqbal, Raja Basharat and Hashim Jawan Bakht - and that he would forward to the Election Commission only the nominations made by the government for the caretaker chief minister if the opposition did not make its recommendation for the parliamentary committee in time.

Under the law, if the chief minister and opposition leader could not reach a consensus on the caretaker set-up, a parliamentary committee comprising three MPAs each from both sides will try to develop a consensus for selecting one of the nominees for caretaker CM already made by the government and the opposition leader.

The parliamentary committee has three days for the...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT