National Economic Council reconstituted by President Arif Alvi.


President Arif Alvi has reconstituted the National Economic Council (NEC), according to a notification issued by the Cabinet Division on Saturday. As per media reports, the NEC will now comprise of 13 members under the chairmanship of Prime Minister Imran Khan, and four provincial chief ministers, Advisor to the PM on Finance, Revenue and Economic Affairs Abdul Hafeez Shaikh Advisor to the PM on Commerce, Textile, Industry and Production, and Investment Abdul Razak Dawood, Advisor to the PM on Institutional Reforms and Austerity Ishrat Hussain, Provincial Minister of Punjab for Finance Hashim Jawan Bakht, Provincial Minister of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa for Finance Taimur Saleem Khan Jhagra. From Sindh senior politician Nisar Khuhro and Jan Mohammad Jamali from Balochistan are also included in the council. Asad Umar has been appointed a member of the NEC, and importantly, Khusro Bakhtiar's council membership has been terminated. KP Governor Shah Farman, Azad Jammu and Kashmir Prime Minister Raja Farooq Haider Khan, Planning Commission Deputy Chairman Dr...

To continue reading