NA speaker finally accepts resignations of 34 PTI MNAs.

ISLAMABAD -- As power politics continues between the ruling and the opposition parties in the country, National Assembly Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf on Tuesday finally accepted the resignations of 35 members of the lower house of parliament - 34 belonging to the Imran Khan-led Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) as well as Awami Muslim League (AML) chief Sheikh Rashid.

Asad Qaiser, Qasim Suri, Pervez Khattak, Ali Amin Gandapur, Murad Saeed, Shehryar Khan Afridi, and Imran Khattak are among the lawmakers whose resignations have been accepted.

The development came following growing acrimony between the PTI and the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N)-led government in the country.

Resignations of Hammad Azhar, Shafqat Mehmood, Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Zartaj Gul, Ali Zaidi have also been accepted by the NA speaker.

It is pertinent to mention here that around 131 MNAs belonging to the PTI tendered their resignations en masse after Imran Khan's government was ousted through a no-confidence motion In April last year.

Subsequently, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) de-notified the 35 MNAs belonging to the former ruling party.

According to a notification issued by the electoral authority, 'Consequent upon the acceptance of resignations by the Hon'ble Speaker, National Assembly of Pakistan and in pursuance of the Notification No F.21 (4)/2022- lagis dated 17th January, 2023 of National Assembly of Pakistan. the Election Commission of Pakistan hereby de-notifies the following Members of National Assembly of Pakistan with immediate effect.'

Reacting to the coalition government's move, PTI Senior Vice-President Fawad Chaudhry thanked Speaker Pervaiz...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT