Larger bench formed to hear Imran's plea against ECP.

LAHORE -- Lahore High Court (LHC) Chief Justice Muhammad Ameer Bhatti on Tuesday constituted a five-member larger bench to decide the petition filed by PTI Chairman Imran Khan against the proceedings of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) to debar him from heading his party.

Last week, a single bench, comprising Justice Jawad Hassan, had recommended to the chief justice to form a larger bench on the matter.

The CJ constituted the larger bench headed by Justice Shahid Bilal Hassan and comprising Justice Shams Mahmood Mirza, Justice Shahid Karim, Justice Shehram Sarwar Chaudhry and Justice Jawad Hassan. The cause list of the larger bench is yet to be issued.

In this case, the single bench had already restrained the ECP from taking adverse action against Imran Khan in proceedings to debar him from heading the party following his disqualification from NA-95 (Mianwali-1) constituency for allegedly filing incorrect statements of assets.

The ECP had started the proceedings against Mr Khan after disqualifying him from his Mianwali seat in the Toshakhana reference. Mr Khan, through Barrister Syed Ali Zafar, had challenged the assumption of...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT