KP Assembly Passes Resolution Demanding CEC To Resign.

Peshawar -- Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf lawmakers in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly on Monday passed a resolution demanding the resignation of the Chief Election Commissioner and other officeholders of the ECP, while the opposition benches opposed it on the assembly floor.

The resolution, moved by KP Ministers Shaukat Yusufzai and Taimur Jhagra, alleged that an 'imported' government had been imposed on the nation against the will of the general populace after the elected PTI-led government in the centre had been overthrown with the assistance of a foreign power. It said Pakistan was currently experiencing economic and political crisis, and the only way to resolve it was by holding free and fair elections as soon as possible.

It said the House expressed its concerns about the Election Commissioner's role and demanded that the Chief Elections Commissioner and other members of the Commission resign in order to allow for transparent elections. The resolution claimed that there were substantial evidences of the election commission's partiality.

Maulana Lutfur Rehman, the parliamentarian leader of Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-F, claimed that the major political parties, including PPP, PML-N, and JUI-F, had repeatedly demanded fresh elections in the past when PTI ruled the country but the demand had not been heeded by the then PTI rulers. He said the joint opposition had succeeded in ousting the 'selected' prime minister...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT