Govt forms Local Government Commission for ICT.

ISLAMABAD -- The federal government on Tuesday formed Local Government Commission for Islamabad Capital Territory (ICT), ARY News reported.

The interior ministry issued a notification for the formation of a Local Government Commission following the approval of the federal cabinet.

According to the notification, the commission will be comprised of nine members with Special Assistant to Prime Minister on CDA Affairs MNA Ali Nawaz Awan as head of the body. All the members will assume charge for five years.

The commission will include two MNAs and senators from the ruling party and the opposition, including MNA Khurram Nawaz and Senator Seemi Ezdi from the PTI and former prime minister Raja Pervaiz Ashraf.

Senator Mushahid Hussain Syed from the opposition and technocrats Ali Bokhari and Tayyaba Ibrahim along with a 19-Grade Officer will be a part of the commission. The district's Finance Committee Director has also been commissioned as the secretary.

The commission is a requirement...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT