Franchises make supplementary, replacement picks for HBL PSL 8.

LAHORE -- All the six franchises of the HBL Pakistan Super League (PSL) for its eighth edition on Wednesday added players to their squads in the third and fourth supplementary pick rounds before naming replacements for the players who were partially or fully unavailable. Each side could pick a maximum of one foreign cricketer in the two supplementary rounds.

Peshawar Zalmi, who had reserved their pick in the second supplementary round in the HBL PSL 8 player draft in December, picked fast bowler Khurram Shahzad.

In the first pick of the third supplementary round, Peshawar Zalmi picked Haris Sohail, who recently made a comeback to the Pakistan ODI side.

Lahore Qalandars, who had the second pick, named Ahsan Bhatti, a left-arm spin all-rounder and product of their player development programme. Islamabad United and Karachi Kings picked Tom Curran and Ben Cutting, who played for Peshawar Zalmi last season, respectively. Quetta Gladiators and Multan Sultans, who had the fifth and sixth picks, included Qais Ahmed and Kieron Pollard, who had previously turned out for Karachi Kings.

The fourth supplementary round followed the reverse order in which Multan Sultans took Ammad Butt, who was with Peshawar Zalmi in the last edition. Quetta Gladiators picked Saud Shakeel. Karachi Kings and Islamabad United picked Musa Khan, who was previously in Islamabad United, and Zafar Gohar, while Lahore Qalandars and Peshawar Zalmi reserved their picks.

The six franchises also named replacements for the players who are partially or fully unavailable.

In the Platinum category, Lahore Qalandars picked Sam Billings for Rashid Khan; Peshawar Zalmi replaced Rovman Powell with Richard Gleeson; Islamabad United picked Gus Atkinson and Tymal Mills for Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Alex Hales. Multan Sultan replaced David Miller with Izharulhaq Naveed. Quetta reserved their pick for Sri Lanka's Wanindu Hasaranga.

In the Diamond category, Islamabad United and Peshawar Zalmi reserved their picks for Fazalhaq Farooqi and Mujeeb ur Rehman; Quetta Gladiators picked Dwaine Pretorius and Will Jacks for Odean Smith and Jason Roy.

Multan Sultan reserved their replacements for Akeal Hosein and Tim David in the Gold category.

In the Silver category, Quetta Gladiators and Lahore Qalandars replaced Naveen-ul-Haq with Nuwan Thushara and...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT