ECP's arrest warrants for Imran suspended.

ISLAMABAD -- The Rawalpindi bench of Lahore High Court on Monday suspended bailable arrest warrants for Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan, Senior Vice President Fawad Chaudhry and Secretary General Asad Umar issued by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) in a contempt case.

Justice Sadaqat Ali Khan of the LHC, however, allowed the ECP to continue contempt proceedings against them.

A four-member ECP bench had last week issued the bailable arrest warrants for the PTI leaders for allegedly using intemperate language against the chief election commissioner (CEC).

The Supreme Court had earlier allowed the ECP to continue contempt proceedings against the PTI leaders.

The four-member ECP bench, headed by Sindh member Nisar Ahmad Durrani, had issued five separate but almost identical orders - one against Asad Umar and two each against Imran Khan and Fawad Chaudhry - over the contempt of the ECP and CEC Sikandar Sultan Raja.

'The long and short [conclusion] of above discussion is that...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT