Deadlock over ECP appointments persists.



ISLAMABAD -- The deadlock between the government and the Opposition over the appointment of members and Chief Election Commissioner of the Election Commission persists as the Parliamentary Committee on Monday did not reach any consensus. Headed by Federal Minister for Human Rights Shireen Mazari the Committee failed to have a positive output on the issue.

The government team comprised Dr Mazari, Defence Minister Pervez Khattak, and Minister for Parliamentary Affairs Azam Swati, Minister and Naseebullah Bazai of the Balochistan Awami Party.

The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) was represented at the meeting by Shaaza Fatima, Mushahidullah Khan and Nisar Cheema while former Prime Minister Raja Pervez Ashraf and Senator Dr Sikandar Mandhro and Naveed Qamar represented the PPP.

JUI-F MNA Shahida Akhtar represented her party in the meeting. Later, talking to The Nation, Naseebullah Bazai said that the government side insisted on its proposed name Babar Yaqoob Fateh Muhammad for the post of the CEC. He further said that they wanted to resolve the issue in the yesterday's meeting but unfortunately they did not reach any consensus.

He stated that they were hoping for more time from...

To continue reading