A Chronology Of Pervez Elahi And Predecessors: Facts And Background.

Chaudhry Pervez Elahi, who will turn 77 on November 1, has taken over as Punjab's chief minister again after 14 years, eight months and eight days.

Pervez Elahi had previously served as Punjab's 14th CM for four years and 354 days, from November 29, 2002 to November 18, 2007.

He has now assumed duties as the 20th provincial chief executive amid what appears to be grave political turmoil that has engulfed the country since April 10 this year, when then-prime minister Imran Khan was deposed.

Pervez Elahi is the country's only national politician who was appointed Deputy Prime Minister on June 25, 2012, following a political alliance between the then-ruling PPP and the Pakistan Muslim League-Q. He was the federal minister of defence production and industries at the time. Pervez Elahi, who holds a diploma in industrial management from London's Watford College of Technology, worked in this office until March 16, 2013.

His political career dates back 39 years. In 1983, he was elected chairman of the Gujrat district council for four years.

While Shahbaz Sharif has served as the Punjab CM for the longest time (11 years), Sardar Dost Khan Khosa has served for the shortest time (58 days).

From 1955 to 1970, there was no chief minister in Punjab because the post was abolished following the establishment of one-unit in Pakistan, a geopolitical programme launched on November 22, 1954 by then-prime minister Muhammad Ali Bogra to overcome the difficulty of administering the two unequal polities of West and East Pakistan, which were separated by more than 1,000 miles.

Due to military rules in Pakistan, there was no chief minister in Punjab from July 1, 1970 to May 2, 1972, July 5, 1977 to April 9, 1985, and October 12, 1999 to November 23, 2002.

Nawab Iftikhar Hussain Khan Mamdot, the first Punjab CM, had served for one year and 163 days before governor's rule was imposed in the province from January 25, 1949 to April 5, 1951. Following the governor's rule, three more Punjab CMs took the oath of office. These three chief ministers are listed with their respective tenure lengths in brackets:

Malik Feroze Khan Noon (2 years, 48 days), and Sardar Abdul Hamid Khan...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT