Candidates Gear Up Preparations For Sept 25 NA-22 Mardan By-Polls.

Mardan -- The ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and opposition parties' alliance Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDA) has accelerated their preparations for the by-election to be held on 25th September.

The constituency was formerly known as NA-10 Mardan-II from 1977 to 2018. The name changed to NA-22 Mardan-III after the delimitation in 2018. In the 1977 election candidate of Pakistan National Alliance (PNA) Maulana Habib Gul succeeded on this seat, in 1985 independent candidate Haji Nadir Shah succeed on this seat, in the 1988 election JUI (DG) candidate Maulana Shahid Ahmed succeeded, in 1990 independent candidate Aslam Khattak won this seat, in 1993 election Muttahida Deeni Mahaz (MDM) candidate Maulana Shahid Ahmed won this seat, in 1997 election Awami National Party (ANP) candidate Shams-ur-Rehman Qasim won this seat, in the 2002 and 2008 election MMA candidate Maulana Mohammad Qasim won this seat and in 2013 an 2018 election PTI candidate Ali Mohammad Khan won this seat.

However, five candidates including ex-prime minister Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Imran Khan, PDM candidate Maulana Qasim, JI Abdul Wasay and independent candidate Mohammad Sarwar are contesting the election for this seat. PTI has organized 22 teams for the election campaign of ex-prime minister Imran Khan.

According to a notification issued by Secretary General, Asad Umar...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT