Body of broadcast journalists formed to run affairs of newly established AEMEND.


ISLAMABAD -- Senior professionals from the broadcast media have formed a 16-member executive committee to run the affairs of the newly established Association of Electronic Media Editors and News Directors (AEMEND).

The executive committee will complete membership of the first-ever body of senior TV and digital journalists aimed at promoting independence of media and freedom of expression guaranteed in the Constitution and the universally acknowledged Human Rights charter of the United Nations.

The association will also contribute towards providing opportunities for training television and digital journalists to promote an independent media working environment.

At a meeting held recently, Azhar Abbas of Geo News was elected AEMEND's first president, Mohammad Malick of Hum News and Mohammad Usman of Neo TV vice presidents and Ammad Yousaf of ARY News general secretary.

Other members of the executive committee include Farhan Mallick, director news of Samaa TV; Zahid Mazhar, director news of DawnNews; Ayaz Khan, group editor of Express News; Rashid Mahmood, director news of Aaj TV; Habib Akram of...

To continue reading