AJK EC announces schedule for preparation, update of voters' list.

Byline: Tariq Naqash

MUZAFFARABAD -- The Election Commission of Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) has announced the schedule for preparation and update of lists of voters residing within the AJK territory.

Of the 45 constituencies of the AJK Legislative Assembly, 33 are located within the 13,297 sq kilometres AJK territory while the remaining 12 are located in the four provinces of Pakistan and are reserved for the migrants from India occupied Jammu and Kashmir as well as the people affected by Mangla dam (construction and extension) who reside there.

The timetable for registration of voters based in the 12 constituencies in Pakistan was issued late last year and final electoral rolls are set to be published on Feb 12.

Unveiling the scheme for the 33 constituencies, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) retired Justice Abdul Rashid Sulehria told a news conference that all administrative arrangements including the supply of electoral rolls 2016, updated till now by the National Database and Registration Authority (Nadra), and printed forms, prescribed under the AJK Election Rules 2020, would be completed before Jan 15.

The CEC, who was flanked by commission's member Raja Farooq Niaz, said that assistant commissioners and tehsildars/naib tehsildars had been appointed as registration officers and assistant registration officers, respectively, for their concerned tehsils or subdivisions.

The registration officers would verify, add and delete entries in the manuscript of draft electoral rolls after door-to-door visits by tellers and provide the...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT