After receiving asset details, ECP restores memberships of 36 MPs.

ISLAMABAD -- The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Wednesday restored the membership of another 36 lawmakers after the belated submission of statements of assets and liabilities for the financial year ending on June 30, 2022.

They include eight senators, 25 members of the National Assembly (MNAs) and three members of the now dissolved Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) Assembly.

The eight senators, whose membership has been restored, include former finance minister Shaukat Fayyaz Tarin, PPP leader Taj Haider and JUI-F's Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haidri. The other five senators are Dr Zarqa Suharwardy Taimur and Dost Mohammad Khan (PTI), recently elected senator Syed Waqar Mehdi and Jam Mahtab Hussain Dahar (PPP) and Hidayatullah Khan (ANP).

The 25 MNAs to have been restored include Minister for Planning, Development and Special Initiatives Ahsan IqbalChaudhry, Minister for Commerce and PPP leader Syed Naveed Qamar, Minister for Defence Production Mohammad Israr Tareen, Minister for National Food Security Chaudhry Tariq Bashir Cheema, Minister for Privatisation Abid Hussain Bhayo, Minister of State for Interior Abdul Rehman Khan Kanju and brother-in-law of former president Asif Ali Zardari, Mir Munawar Ali Talpur, Special Assistant to the Prime Minister (SAPM) Mahar Irshad Ahmad Khan, parliamentary secretary (Ministry of Inter-Provincial Coordination) Nauman Islam Shaikh, Parliamentary Secretary on Human Rights Ayesha Rajab Ali and PTI's Ahmad Hussain Dahar.

Others on the list are Saleem Rehman, Saleh Mohammad, Dr Nisar Ahmad Cheema, Zulfiqar Ahmad, Azhar Qayyum Nahra, Mohsin Shahnawaz Ranjha, Mohammad Shahbaz Babar, Makhdoom Syed Samiul Hassan Gillani, Syed Ghulam Mustafa Shah, Shakila Khalid Chaudhry, Samina Matloob, Asiya Azeem, Dr Seemin Abdul Rehman Bokhari and Kesoo Mal Kheeal Das.

Fazal Hakeem Khan...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT