14-member committee to inquire into Seantor Swati's alleged video leak.

ISLAMABAD -- Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani on Sunday formed a 14-member special committee to inquire into the alleged leaked video of fellow Senator Azam Swati. A notification to this effect was issued by Joint Secretary Rabeea Anwar. The special committee has been tasked with compiling and presenting its report into the matter within 30 days. The special committee consists of leaders of all political parties elected to the upper house of the parliament. Members of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), the Pakistan People's Party (PPP), Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam Pakistan (JUI-P), Baloch Awami Party (BAP), Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P), National Party (NP), Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party (PKMAP), Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), Baloch National Party (BNP), Pakistan Muslim League-Functional (PML-F), Awami National Party (ANP), Pakistan Muslim League (PML-Q) and independent candidates are part of the committee. Senator Swati, however, has been excluded from the committee. Instead, his party and senate colleague Mohsin Aziz has been included in the committee. The notification said that in their first meeting, the committee will elect its chairperson while it will have 30 days to complete its probe and submit a report. The notification explained that this had been done to 'avoid any conflict of interest'. The committee consists of Senator Azam Nazeer Tarar (PML-N), Senator Mohsin Aziz (PTI), Senator Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani (PPP), Senator Molana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri (JUI-P), Senator Anwar-ul-Haq Kakar (BAP), Senator Syed Faisal Ali Subzwari (MQM-P), Senator Muhammad Tahir Bizenjo (NP), Senator Sardar Muhammad Shafeeq Tareen (PKMAP), Senator Mushtaq Ahmed (JI), Senator Muhammad Qasim (BNP)...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT